Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

A concerning E-mail

Status
Not open for further replies.

tonymit

Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I have the domain name name bottomlinetech.com registered to me (at dotster) since march 2003. I am a broadcast systems engineer and am using the domain name which would also be my proposed company name as a tool to seek contract engineering work in my chosen market - I have not launched my company as yet it is just a sideline. I have recently received the following message from a similarly named company:-

Tony:

I am writing because the name of your company is very similar to our company name. Since you are also offering technical services, you may confuse our clients.

I don't know how long you've been using the name Bottom Line Technical Services but it may be in your interest not to use this name. Our company was incorporated in 1989 and has substantial name recognition in the technical services market. If, as I suspect, you are just getting started and other names are available to you, we may consider purchasing the domain name from you for a nominal fee.

Ed McCauley
Bottom Line Technologies Inc.
Voice: (908) 479-1228
Main: (908) 479-1200
FAX: (908) 479-1201
http://www.bltinc.com
[email protected]

So - what do I do? I perceive a clear threat in these words. I have placed a holding reply as follows:-

Hello Ed,

The domain name bottomlinetech.com was registered in my name on 13 March
this year following a number of checks I carried out to ensure that this
name was sufficiently "unique" to be usable as a trading name.

It is a, perhaps unfortunate, co-incidence, that we have this similarity in
the name. I had become aware that there was another company in the 'States
called Bottom Line Technical Services (whose URL does not appear to function
anymore!) therefore I had decided to call my company just BottomLineTech