• Welcome to DNForum.com - Domain Investor Forum, Free Domain Marketplace and a community for 45+ domain pros
    If you are new to domains and looking to buy, sell and learn about domains then you have come to the right place. DNForum is the oldest global domain name community on the internet and continues to grow every day. There are over 45,000 domainers on DNForum doing everything from buying domains, selling domains, using our free in-house built tools, learning about domains and discussing domains. Take a minute and Register.

adraianaventis.com UDRP

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dave Zan

New Member
The Originals
Legacy Platinum Member
Joined
Aug 30, 2004
Messages
1,698
Reaction score
10
http://arbiter.wipo.int/domains/decisions/html/2004/d2004-0977.html

It's been quite some time since I saw a UDRP where the respondent won even
though s/he didn't reply to the challenge.

Fortunately for the respondent, the panelist took time to research extensively
and found quite a few interesting things:

It follows that a finding in favour of the Complainants in connection with the tests of paragraphs 4(a)(i) and (ii), is likely to result in a finding that the domain name at issue was registered in bad faith, and the Panel so finds.

The test of paragraph 4(a)(iii) is a dual one, and the Panel must also be satisfied that the domain name at issue has been used in bad faith.

The Panel accessed the domain name at issue, and found that the web site was billed as the “Official website of Adraiana Ventis”, “Adraiana Ventis – Pornstar Extraordinaire”, described as “a former teen webcam model from Tampa”.

The website contains several endorsements: “Congratulations to Adraiana Ventis for winning the AVN Best Newbie and critics’ award”, “Adraiana also won the CAVR Star of the Year Award.”

There is a website, “www.avnawards.com,” which refers to the “AVN Awards for excellence in adult movies”. There is a website, “www.cavr.com” (cavr apparently being the initials of “Cyberspace Adult Video Reviews”), which appears to be a comprehensive porn website.

Browsing the name Adraiana Ventis or adrianaventis on a browser such as Google results in many websites relating to the pornographic content promised in the “www.adraianaventis.com” website.

It is the Panel’s conclusion that the domain name at issue is used for the purposes of a working pornographic website, as opposed to a website prepared for the purposes of these proceedings.

Given the name and reputation of Adraiana Ventis, the domain name, in all probability was not registered to take advantage of any confusion with Complainants’ marks. Therefore, the domain name was not registered or used in bad faith.

In view of the above, the Panel concludes that the Complainants are not likely to have their name/trade mark tarnished by such use, and, accordingly, decides that the domain name at issue is not being used in bad faith.

The Panel notes, in particular, that the Complainants have not complained of any approach by the owners of the domain name to them with a view to selling them the domain name.

I didn't know there was a group dedicated to "excellence in adult movies". But
then again, I guess it shouldn't be surprising. :-D
 
maybe the panelists received Adraiana's services :-D
 
RADiSTAR said:
maybe the panelists received Adraiana's services :-D

Lol... amusement aside.. that was a fair ruling, I therefore tip my hat to the right and honorable panelist.. job well done.

:approve:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top Bottom