Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

advice needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

weeps

DNF Member
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I've been running a business online since 2001. Someone has registered a typo of my name and has ads on this site that offer the same service as me so it is obvious that they are trying to profit from my recognized business name. The problem is I have never trademarked the name but have been using it for 5 years now. Is there anything I can do?

I checked their whois and they have some type of domain privacy enabled and it says that the only way to contact them is via express mail and emails will never be answered. The address is some forwarding company so I don't have any details about the registrant either.

Blarian

DNF Regular
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I think it will come down to the date when the domain was registered, and if you actually have rights to that TM - which seems like you should.

Is the typo parked? or what's on the site? If they are operating in bad faith, this could be another factor in your favor.

Sorry that I can't be much more help, hopefully someone can give you a more definitive answer. I'm curious as well.

weeps

DNF Member
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Blarian said:
I think it will come down to the date when the domain was registered, and if you actually have rights to that TM - which seems like you should.

Is the typo parked? or what's on the site? If they are operating in bad faith, this could be another factor in your favor.

Sorry that I can't be much more help, hopefully someone can give you a more definitive answer. I'm curious as well.

My domain was registered in 2001, theres was 2005.

The typo domain seems to be parked and it using my exact niche as it's keywords to target.

Just noticed the domains also listed at sedo with an opening bid of 1000$.

DNQuest.com

DNF Addict