Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Are domains assets?

Status
Not open for further replies.

rolf

Level 1
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Hi,

Does anyone know the tax treatment of domains? I'm particularly interested in the UK tax treatment.

Are they technically assets and subject to capital gains tax?

Should the profits just be registered in your personal tax return?

Or do they constitute casual earnings and you should therefore register as self employed???

I'm puzzled to say the least!

By the way, I'm talking about earnings that are too small to constitute forming a company.

GT Web

DNF Addict
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
The way I do it (I am by no means an expert):

Revenue = all domain sales
Costs = reg fees and all my domain purchases

Owning a domain does not constitute an asset (at least one worth more than reg fee) because it is impossible to guess a value of the domain.

I would also like to hear from someone more knowledagable than myself, but I haven't had any problems over the past few years.

CashCowDomains

Level 6
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
you don't report any earnings via domain name monetization (ppc, adsense, ypn or affiliate earnings) ???

Rubber Duck

Level 9
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
rolf said:
Hi,

Does anyone know the tax treatment of domains? I'm particularly interested in the UK tax treatment.

Are they technically assets and subject to capital gains tax?

Should the profits just be registered in your personal tax return?

Or do they constitute casual earnings and you should therefore register as self employed???

I'm puzzled to say the least!

By the way, I'm talking about earnings that are too small to constitute forming a company.

Good question and I am from the UK as well!

I already had a company running and put my domains through that company as a side line.