Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Artist let name drop

Status
Not open for further replies.

INVIGOR

Level 8
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
A very popular artist has let their domain drop. It was caught by a drop catcher and I'm planning to bid. The price is up there. I looked it up on Alext and it says owned by Virgin Records (obviously before it dropped). The site is a firstname.com, but a rare first name at that. If I acquired it would they have recourse to get it from me through WiPo

Focus

Making Everything Click
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
whats the name?

Focus

Making Everything Click
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Got your PM,

Basically, it's a plural of xxxx.com (like " xxxx's ") and as long as you do not directly reference the artist (you may be able to legally do so with a fan site, but you need to research this more since I am not a lawyer) I really think you have nothing to worry about. The fact that they dropped the name does little for their "case" if they ever presented one, and in fact would only show neglect or lack of need on their end as they surrendered the rights to the domain name when they let it expire and then go through full deletion and back to the public registry. Since they owned it to begin with, imo they had their chance and lost it. This is all relevant information in your defense IF you win the domain name. So, I say go for it dude...this is of course without knowing anything like traffic/stats/pricing...I have'nt even researched it but I can imagine it must be worthwhile if you are bidding and the price is up there...and the eventual result here imo would be them trying to buy it from you if they really wanted it back...thats a big IF. Good luck dude! lemme know if you get it..

Regards,

Chris

INVIGOR

Level 8
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Didn't even see the plural aspect!!

INVIGOR

Level 8
Legacy Exclusive Member