Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Best forum software with hosting

Status
Not open for further replies.

ebrdomains

Level 3
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I m looking to start a forum and was wondering anyone have any suggustions. I have no experience in installing software or anything like that. I just want a forum with hosting that I can customize easily. Thanks!

Eric

draggar

þórr mjǫlnir
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
vBulliten is great but it costs $$$. For free ones, I prefer SMF - use the "beta' version - it's very stable and has a lot of nice features that the non-beta doesn't have. A lot of people also use phpBB but I don't find it as easy to manage as SMF.

As for hosting, I've been using HostMonster and I've been content, they're inexpensive but I'm sure they're lacking in a lot of features that other, more expensive hosts may include (like good (and included) spam blocking..)

ebrdomains

Level 3
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Hi how about going with something like godaddy website builder where you can add forums. Is this something that is basically easy to do.

draggar

þórr mjǫlnir
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I've never played with GD's forums but when I was with a different host you had very little leeway with the forum. You couldn't change the code (to add advertisements etc..) and to say that the forum was very basic would be an understatement.

Give it a try but make sure you're set with a script / package before you go all out - it's not easy to convert the databases from one forum to another.

If you're worried that it might be too hard, don't worry about that. Get a database set up (your host will do that), upload your forum where you need it to and run the install script. It'll ask you a few questions (database name, login, password, email etc..) and you're up and running.

myst woman

Level 8
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score