Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Best way to use new domains?

Status
Not open for further replies.

raindance

Level 1
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm new to the world of domaining and made the classic mistake of buying a bunch of domains that I just liked or thought had some developement potential (about 40 domains). I applied for accounts yesterday at Fabulous, Gold Key, Smart Names, TrafficZ. They all denied me. So I guess I bought names with no type-in traffic potential or not enough of that type. I did no traffic research as I hadn't done enough research yet to realize you could and must do that. (I've now bought Domain Research Tools and the Ebook promoted on this site by Zach Bastick.

One of my domains, which I've had for about a year is sanfrancisohomes.com Seems to me this could get some type in traffic. I had it parked at Godaddy for about a week, no clicks. I now have it parked at Sedo.

But when you go to that page, what the page is being populated is nearly totally unrelated to san francisco homes. It's not good optimization. Go Daddy's was better but got no clicks.

Any suggestions? Some of the domains I think have developement potential which is what I bought them for. Some may have resale value...I'm not sure.

Now I know not to buy any more domains until I know what I'm doing but any suggestions on where to park the typo one given my denial by the good parking compaines?

Also, any other tools folks like to use? I've been playing with premiumdrops, the Moniker Domain Grabber, Drop Shark, Drop Watch, got Zach's book, read Ron Jackson's newbie guide. Any other "how to get off on the right foot" advice would be appreciated!

Thanks in advance...looking forward to being part of this forum.

Biggie

DNForum Moderator
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
lol

why park at godaddy?