Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Daily Diamond

Can someone tell me about Domain Brokers?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Tia Wood

Web Developer
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I've never used one before but I'm considering. Who are some reputable brokers and what are their roles? When should I use or avoid them? What are some warning signs of a bad broker? Can someone please explain everything for me? :)

Thanks.

Domain Days 2024

GT Web

DNF Addict
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I'm not trying to make fun of you or anything, but usually brokers look for better names that what you have in your signature. A broker's job varies from simply finding a buyer for a name (I have done this several times) to finding a buyer and being a third party during the transaction who helps with the payment and domain transfer. The broker usually takes a 10%-20% fee for this service.

scrsteven

Level 7
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
GT Web said it nicely. I broker the sale of many names, and I won't consider anything worth under $1k because it's just not worth my time. Fees range from 10% to 35%, depending on the name/price/situation.
Warning signs of a bad broker? Making you get a paid appraisal :)

WhoDatDog

Level 8
Legacy Gold Member
Reaction score
If you aren't getting emails from people asking about your names then a broker probably wouldn't be interested. The best time to get a broker is if you aren't really into domains and you happen to have a gem of a name.

I can't see how a broker could be useful to anyone who studies domains just a little bit. You run the risk of getting the worst of it and not maximizing value.

I would guess that the buyer gets the best deal over 90 percent of the time when a broker is involved. You can sell your names for less than they are worth on your own....you don't need help.