Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Changes since 2006..

Status
Not open for further replies.

aldwin

DNF Member
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone..
I've been buying and selling domain names for about a couple of years between 2004 and 2006 (probably something also in 2007, I don't remember).

Given that I don't have the time to read a zillion of forum threads, is there someone who is willing to summarize a bit the changes in the market?
I remember I leaved because every domain seemed overpriced back then.. how is the situation now?

Is there still someon parking domains or everyone has moved towards developing?

Last edited:

aldwin

DNF Member
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Updated :)
What about the questions?

INFORG

Level 8
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I also left for several years and came back. Parking revenue is very tough and seems to be in perpetual decline, but still someplace to keep them until you can do better. Development does appear to be the latest wave, but I'd recommend staying away from the auto-blogging, made for adsense stuff, I think that is next to fall. Affiliates, lead generation, micro e-com sites, seem to be your best ROI in the present.

The nice difference between then and now is the development tools (Wordpress, joomla, Xsite, scripts, etc) are so much easier to use, full of features, cheap and more plentiful.

aldwin

DNF Member
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Interesting.
I recently (yesterday, actually) had a look at my survived names (about 100 went deleted in the meanwhile) and there are a few that may be worth some development.
As you suggest I was thinking about affiliate/lead generation or local showcase, so at least I'm on the right way :)