Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Complete newbie, please help...

Status
Not open for further replies.

newbienew

Level 1
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Hi,

As you can tell by my username, I am a total newbie to all of this. I eagerly want to get started but am unsure of how/where to start.

I purchased a domain name (through Yahoo, which by reading through the forum was a mistake. I should have registered through godaddy.com) but am unsure of how to get set up with a company such as DomainSponsor. Upon sign up, I am asked what the monthly traffic is like, how many domains I own, etc.

So, in order for me to get set up with a company like that, would I only be accepted if I had a high traffic volume? There is nothing on the page right now. I just registered the domain so I don't even know how much traffic it is getting...unsure of how to monitor that... Also, do I actually need to BUILD a website? I was under the impression that I could just purchase a domain name and then DS would provide me with some generic search page.

Please provide me with any help you can. I've been so confused for days! lol

Duckinla

DNF Addict
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
1) Spend some time reading through www.namenewbie.com

2) Find a second domain to register and register it at Moniker.com. Contact them via telephone, I believe they offer a price of $6.95 for DNForum members. They will talk you through the process of registering the names, directing the nameservers and parking your domains at their parking service TrafficClub. This is the easiest way to get started. From there you can learn more as you go.

There are other choices, I recommend Moniker because they were very helpful to me in understanding the process.

newbienew

Level 1
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score