Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Daily Diamond

Considering SEDO for brokering high value name.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Domaininate

Level 1
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Greetings,

I am still somewhat new to the domainer game and own what I believe to be a high value name.

I am currently using it for my established business (virtualworld.com), but would like to have a broker make an attempt to promote and sell it in the low to mid $xxx.xxx range.

That said, when I enter into a brokerage agreement with SEDO, is there anything preventing me from utilizing the domain as I do now until someone agrees to purchase it at my minimum reserve price during the time set for exclusive brokerage?

I read the TOS and the fees, but I worry that there is something that I'm missing.

grcorp

Enthusiast
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Hey, Domaininate (love the username!)

You may want to consider shopping it yourself instead of using a broker. Most brokers will charge at least 10%, costing you $xx,xxx off your sale price.

That said, let me ask you two questions...

1. On what basis do you think that this falls into the $xxx,xxx price range?

2. Why would somebody who has $xxx,xxx to invest want YOUR site, and not someone else's?

It's my experience that a rule of thumb valuation to get a ballpark figure is four years' worth of revenue.

To make math easy, let's assume you're expecting USD $200,000.

This, based on my formula, would require the site to net USD $50,000 a year, or ~$137 per day.

The only way you can justify the value of any domain name besides its keyword value is its revenue.

But to answer your question about whether or not Sedo is any good, I've used them to sell a domain before, and they're not bad. Still consider the above and factor that into your valuation...

Onward

Level 9
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Hey, Domaininate (love the username!)