Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

copywrite law & domain name Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

stock_post

JewelryRelated.com
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
copywrite law - Can I use a page title that is = some .com name without the .com?

Say for example

www. AdSense Alternatives .com is my site

Can I claim I have the copywirte if some one use on
"AdSense Alternatives" as page title?

As far as I know unless I have a TM, I do not have any right to ask them to change their page title - is this correct?

BELLC1

Level 8
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I'm not an attorney, but I don't believe you can copyright a title.

LizzeyDripping

Level 2
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Hi

You clearly need professional legal advice.

I am not a copyright expert but yes there is the possibility that copyright exists in the name.

How on earth do you know there is no trade mark? You searched the trade mark register of every country in the world? You must have a lot of cash. You know for certain the person in question has no common law rights in the name? You will note that it is a tenet of the UDRP that the domain name extension does not materially affect the trade mark - i.e. xxx.com and xxx.net are not held to be different by virtue of what is after the DOT so why would you think that simply removing the .com from a potential trade mark makes it different?

No offence - but your assumptions could get you in trouble here. If you've been contacted already, take advice from a professional. :)

DNQuest.com

DNF Addict
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
add:

trademarks do not have to be registered to be afforded protection.

boz

Level 1
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Any other suggestions please.
Some one is sending email that she is going to take legal action.
Saying my Page title on one of my pages is same as her .com name.

And she do not own a TM on that.