Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Corporate Structure

Status
Not open for further replies.

markk

Level 2
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I think it is time to individually incorporate departments of my domain / web business.

I am thinking something like this:

Company A (Typo's, Possible C&D, Trademark, Other Legal Risks)
Company B (Brandable, generic, premium names, etc. Minimal legal risk)
Company C (Developed websites with minimal income)
Company C+ (Individually developed websites with substantial income)
Company D (Holdings Company)

I am not too familiar with corporate structures but have somewhat of an understanding. I know I should be asking a lawyer these questions but my lawyer doesn't specialize in domains or intellectual property and I know that there are some very smart lawyers on this forum that may be able to help me out with the ground work.

Also, I am a Canadian citizen and resident. Would it be more feasible to incorporate in Canada or in the United States and why?

Steen

Level 9
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
That's a lot of corporations. Why would you not have two, if you want multiples.

Legal risk and "not so much" legal risk.

Also, a corporation does not provide 100% protection. Just two weeks ago several companies were served (by the FTC) at the "Internext 2005" conference and two or three individuals involved in the corporations were also being sued (by the FTC, personally.

markk

Level 2
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Steen said:
That's a lot of corporations. Why would you not have two, if you want multiples.

Legal risk and "not so much" legal risk.

Also, a corporation does not provide 100% protection. Just two weeks ago several companies were served (by the FTC) at the "Internext 2005" conference and two or three individuals involved in the corporations were also being sued (by the FTC, personally.