Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Daily Diamond

Dedicated V's VPS V's Reseller

Status
Not open for further replies.

loho27

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I've bean reading these threads for awhile now and I would just like to highlight a couple of usefull tips regarding all of the above.

I have been hosting for over nine years and have been burnt by the biggest and the best.

Here Go's

1). Never host all your sites at the one place. If they go down so does your business.

2). Always use your own nameservers. If you want to shift hosts, you only have to change 2 settings.

3) The price of a VPS will always give you a better machine than a dedicated server.
Don't let your ego get in the way of common sense.

4) DYOR do your own research.

Look for how many IP's on the same address. How many sites on the same address.

5) If the hosting company does not have a phone number on there site and you can not talk to a tech.
Do Not Deal With Them

6) Be location specific, especially for GEO domains 5 hops is always better than 30

7) Reseller hosting is a great starting place, work on buying 2 gigs of space, 20 gigs BW, you will always get this on EBAY for about 10 dollars a month REMEMBER 1 and 5

8) Always stick with the same Control Panel that way migrations and backups are very simple.

9) When dealing with support always assume that you are dealing with an 8 year old and explain exactly what is wrong and what measures you have taken to fix the problem.
If not you will end up with an autoresponder answer or worse being treated like a 5 year old.

10) If your hosting company goes down, commence migration immediately, contrary to assurances and 99.9% up-time guarantees, things will not get better.

11) Finally avoid Windows Servers, they will always cost you more in the long run for very marginal benefits.

If you have any more, please add.

Kind Regards

loho27

Level 4