Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Demand to transfer domain due to a trademark

Status
Not open for further replies.

lucubrator

Level 2
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone,
it's a shame to start on this interesting forum with this sad topic, but I need now
some good advices. I am pretty new to domain business, just few years now and
still a lot lot to learn :cool:

So my story begins this way:
- I registered around 3 years ago a .biz domain, mainly because I was willing
to create a fan site for a game. After all I never had enough time to start it,
so it was used for making subdomains and other such fun stuff :)

- I had eventually listed the domain to sell it at Sedo.

- I recently got from Sedo a message that they'll remove it from the listings because they had received a complaint of potential trademark infringement from someone.

- I sent an email to ask for the details etc. from Sedo, I never got anything else but a short reply telling me about the same as the original message, no name of who made the complaint.

- But it didn't took long time before I got an email from the actually maker of the complaint. He had somehow managed to register the trademark in http://oami.europa.eu. Which is something like patent handler of European
Union. And he did this according to the site, not more than a few months ago on this year.
EDIT1: Oh and I forgot to mention, that this new trademark registrant had
nothing to do with the game company etc. just more likely trying to benefit from the
dropped trademark or so...

- In the email this person told that he made the complaint to Sedo and he told me that
I shall provide him the auth code for the domain to transfer it to him.

- So I registered domain over 3 years before and then some guy gets a trademark,
I didn't ever even have idea of this guy's existence. Even my last renewal of domain