Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

detailed trademark situations, please read !

Status
Not open for further replies.

polish_aristocrat

Level 3
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A friend who's not a DNF member asked me this question but since I am not a lawyer, I decided to ask it here.

anyway, here are the questions

1. Someone establishes a games website called alladin.com in 1999
someone else registers aladin.com in 2000

the game website becomes popular and registers a trademark for themselves in 2003. In 2005 aladin.com owner sues aladin.com for trademark violation, but WIPO considers the case from all points of view and decides that there's no apparent violation, because it cannot be proved that aladin.com has been registered in bad faith ( the trademark didnt exist in 2000, neither was the game sites popular ) and aladin.com is also a generic name ( "aladin" may not be a generic word, but this is just an example )

NOW MY QUESTION IS - f.e 1 year after winning the WIPO case, aladin.com puts the domain on the market and I buy it. Please note (!) that I am buying it BEING FULLY AWARE of the alladin.com popular website and trademark. So - does the fact that I am buying it, can put me in legal spotlight and I can risk being WIPOed and losing this name?

Basically, the guy owning alladin.com website could not prove that aladin.com was registetred in bad faith so he could not take it away from him.