Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Do Do the search engines control all the verticals?

Status
Not open for further replies.

PalmBeach

Level 3
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
GoogleCars.com, GoogleRealestate.com, GoogleDoctors.com etc. Does Google, Yahoo, MSN, have control of every Micro market with their prefix?
[FONT=&quot]Ore is it in public domain... the same way it is for the search engines to list your domain?[/FONT]

Devil Dog

Level 9
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
They control the micro market because those urls are confusingly similiar to their tradmarks and names.

But remember, I am not a lawyer.

PalmBeach

Level 3
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
If they can list yours domain why cant you list their domain?

typist

Level 7
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
if you don't want your domain indexed by google you can get it de-listed very easily.

as far as I know, google doesn't mind if you include them in an index of web pages / services.

using their trademark to attract and potentially mislead consumers is a different story.

there are plenty of old posts about related questions to read here.

typeins

DNF Regular
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Google is right in the middle of a worldwide transition to verticalisation... For their paid search at least.

Their new verticals are:

Auto, Travel, Directories, blah blah..

I had a meeting with the head of Google Australia the other day about this because we run the biggest SEM campaigns in this region..

For paid search at least.. its a big step forward.

I know this was a big off topic.. however given the Google and Vertical discussion.. i couldnt resist haha

PalmBeach

Level 3
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
typeins....interesting

a hypothetical question to all of you and to your associate "the head of Google Australia".