Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Does a Trademark trump UDRP ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

domaingenius

Level 8
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Under what circumstances would a Trademark no trump a UDRP procedure ? I have found a place that I can register a simple word only trademark in India for $450 and am considering whether this would suffice as protection against an earlier trademark in another Jurisdiction ? This of course is entirely hypothetical.

DG

draggar

þórr mjǫlnir
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I am not a lawyer but...

Trademarks aren't just on the word, it's also on the usage. If I got adobe.com and used it for a site on the native American tribe or the building style (and keep all ads relevant) there is very little the company could do.

Plus, it sounds like there is already trouble on the domain / keyword do any TMs filed now would be irrelevant and might actually look bad.

I also think TMs are only good in the country where they are registered.

domaingenius

Level 8
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I am not a lawyer but...

Trademarks aren't just on the word, it's also on the usage. If I got adobe.com and used it for a site on the native American tribe or the building style (and keep all ads relevant) there is very little the company could do.

Plus, it sounds like there is already trouble on the domain / keyword do any TMs filed now would be irrelevant and might actually look bad.

I also think TMs are only good in the country where they are registered.