Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Does this sound like a scam???

Status
Not open for further replies.

armstrongdomains

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I just received this e-mail regarding one of my domains and want you to tell me if it sound like a scam as I have no experience:

Hello,

My name is Jeffrey Burnstein and I'm very interested in your domain.

Investing in domains is a profitable business.

Please let me know your price for the domain in the subject line. If you
have other good names just send me the list with prices.

Looking forward to do business with you.

Regards,
Jeffrey Burnstein
CEO
OBS LLC

What do you think?

Dale Hubbard

Formerly 'aZooZa'
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I just received this e-mail regarding one of my domains and want you to tell me if it sound like a scam as I have no experience:

Hello,

My name is Jeffrey Burnstein and I'm very interested in your domain.

Investing in domains is a profitable business.

Please let me know your price for the domain in the subject line. If you
have other good names just send me the list with prices.

Looking forward to do business with you.

Regards,
Jeffrey Burnstein
CEO
OBS LLC

What do you think?
It's certainly spam if not a scam. And bad spam at that -- in one breath he's asking to buy your domain and in the next, he tells you how profitable the business is. Check out the email header. Also, is his return address at a private domain, or aol/hotmail etc.?

draggar

þórr mjǫlnir
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Sounds like the beginning of an appraisal scam. You say yes with an offer, then they ask you for an appraisal though a service (theirs) and then decide against the purchase.

You're out the appraisal fee.