Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

domain appraisals

Status
Not open for further replies.

2002mjf

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
As an absolute beginner in domaining, the first question I had was " How much is my domain worth? " I searched high and low for the answer to this and I have come up with a few theories and was hoping for some feedback.

First, the 'pay-for-appraisal' approach is totally useless, a waste of time, effort, and money.

Secondly, the 'ask-us-here' approach seems to be the best one , but even then I notice that the amounts given are sometimes vastly different. Still, you only have to look at the appraisers post count, legnth of time in whatever forum, and feedback ratings to weed out the "don't know what they are talking about's" from the "realistic" answers. That and if people are not being sheep, the same answer given repeatedly is usually the correct one.

Now, on to 'free-appraisals-online' I have noticed that same domain name are mostly worlds apart from each other.

Swiftappraisal com can be easily manipulated. Everyone think that they're domain is the best, so inputing your own data makes it hard to get a realistic amount.

Domaintops com does not seem to take much into consideration, so I will just dismiss them altogether.

Nameboy com seems to be appraisals on crack or steroids. The amounts given are way too high, even for an end-user.

Estibot com is one name that seems to stand out in the crowd. I have noticed that in this forum and others, thay come to be fairly highly regarded as free-appraisals go. I have noticed that when someone gives a human appraisal, I will check that amount against Estibot's and 9 times out of 10 it is roughly the same with Estibot being on the low cautious side.

There are (many) others that I have not listed here as they are not talked about much, or I have forgotten them!