Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Domain contact information question..

Status
Not open for further replies.

draggar

þórr mjǫlnir
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
As we all know there are 4 contacts for any domain registration. My wife asked me how to make her and someone else a 50/50 "owner" of the domain and I'm trying to figure out the safest way to do this.

Registrant - this needs to be me since the domain is in my account, correct?

Administrative Contact -

Billing Contact - I'm assuming this is for who pays for it?

Technical Contact - This is for whoever manages the site?

What are the other 3 for (I've never done something like this before)? What would be the safest ones to put her friend as to avoid any "legal" issues that might come up?

INFORG

Level 8
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Domain contacts really aren't the proper place to try and divide ownership. Whoever controls the account and the email address associated with the registrant - controls the domain.

Best bet is to set up a corporation with 50/50 ownership and maintain the registration under the corporation. If you don't want that level of business yet, you can just create a simple written contract/agreement to address business assets and ownership.

draggar

þórr mjǫlnir
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Best bet is to set up a corporation with 50/50 ownership and maintain the registration under the corporation. If you don't want that level of business yet, you can just create a simple written contract/agreement to address business assets and ownership.

Too much work and I don't trust the "other person" at all - I'd rather keep control of the domain. I'm sure she (the other person) would be OK with having her name as one of the contacts. Maybe I'll make her the administrative contact and then make whoever runs the site the technical contact (who will most likely be her boyfriend).

JB Lions