Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

domain legal questions

Status
Not open for further replies.

flybuzz

Level 6
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Hi, I am pretty new with domain legal stuff. Let's say you register domain made up example:

hiltondeals.com and park the page with ads on hilton hotels. Does that get you in trouble?

Another example if you get wow.com get park the page and put ads about world of warcraft, do you get in trouble too?

How about MIT.com and you put ads about MIT.edu ?

If you aquire a domain thisismycompany.com which consist of fairly generic words, would you offer to sell the domain to this-is-my-company.com or would that count as cybersquatting?

Are most companies pretty laid back on going after you if the company aren't too big? If they do, do you get in trouble or can you just immediately pull the parked pages?

Zona

Arizona Wildcats
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Flybuzz I am not an attorney but here is my understanding of the points you mention.

1. Hiltondeals.com. Yes that can get you in trouble. In short, you are using a TM'd term (Hilton) to make money for yourself. Potentially they could come after you for the domain and "damages" ($). It would also be an issue if you set-up the site Hiltondeals.com and put up ads for Marriott, Westin, Sheraton, etc.

2. Wow.com That is such a generic term that I think you would be fine. The term "warcraft" is so generic that I can not imagine you would have any issues with this one.

3. MIT.com and MIT.edu. You could have some issues but what kind of ads would you put up for an educational institution?

4. Would need a specific examples.

5. Companies vary widely in their tactics for going after TM infringement and cybersquatting. Even if you pull a parked page or cancel your domain registration you can have issues for the "past damages" you caused a company.