Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Domain summit 2024

Domain Market Overview...am I correct?

Status
Not open for further replies.
G

gbrott

Great forum, as a rookie I've learned a ton over the past few weeks. I'd like to try to get everyone's take on "the market" and how it really shakes out. No need to give up any secrets, but I'd like to know your thoughts...

1) Domain names drop every day - some really good ones included

2) Lots of people try to buy these domains, mostly to re-sell to others

3) It is very competitive to get the "really good" domains, especially as the big guys (buydomains etc.) seem to have a big advantage in getting the good names.

My questions about the market are:

When people get the good names, in general do they (you) hold and wait, or do you try to actively sell them?

My instinct and experience is that many mid-level (good but not great) domains are available every day withouth having to "pounce" , even to the average guy on the street. It just takes a little effort to market and sell them. Buy a good domain for $9, send out 50 emails to possible "fits" - it doesn't seem like much of a stretch to be able to sell it for $150 or $200 - not a bad profit for a few hours work. Do it a few times each week and you are all set.

Is everyone focusing on the "big guns" or does the middle market as I just described actually exist.....

Thanks in advance - i hope your eyes aren't too sore....

Domain summit 2024

DnPowerful

Level 5
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
You are absolutely right in your assessment, but most people see their "catch" as a lottery ticket rather than an investment and aren't happy with a 500% return.

That said, it's an awful lot of work when you have to do it over and over again. Better to focus on buying better and better names as you go up the ladder--as I have done--and sell one or two biggies a month. A lot less work.