Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Domain Reseller or Accredidation?

Status
Not open for further replies.

dalexdesign

Level 2
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I am currently a web designer and expanding my company by its tremendous growth this year. I have spent hours and cant seem to understand how the reseller market works. I am interested in becoming an ICANN accredited regristrar however I am not 100% sure of the process what is required, fees etc.

The average reseller account prices I have found seem to be in line with the following.... approx $7.50-$8 each while some are more like $8.50-$9.

Big Competitors Pricing:
1and1 - $6.99 first year*
NetFirms - $6.99
GoDaddy -$6.95

why would someone want to buy domains from a company they have probably never heard of if it is more than the big guys?

I am looking to spend no more than $100-$200 to become a reseller with pricing that justifies joining.

I am a realistic expectation person and understand that it is probably difficult to get the prices the big guys do and probably only can with so many customers.

However I also have a few tricks that I use with my current services which attracts customers and I make more in the long run.

However how would it be possible for me to offer domain registration at $6.99 if I have to pay $7.50-$8?

I saw a thread here on DNForum for $6.85 domain names.... best price I have found yet however with paypal fees etc how could I do it? Is the $6.85 reseller account free and can you upgrade your account for better pricing?

I read on ICANN that it is $2,500 ok that is really fair for the client base I have that is really a possibility. But how does it work?