Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Domain valuation tips

Status
Not open for further replies.

noelius

Level 5
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Hi! I'm a newbie, and I would like to know how much domain names are valuated, because in this forum I saw cool domains selling for less than worst domain (worst and better in my opinion, of course).

What I want is to say me some tips for valuating domains, because I will register some domains to give reselling a try, and I would like to valuate them correctly.

I know that there are websites which sell all their domains for a fixed price, like $100 or $150. Do you think this is profitable of it would be better to only putting them a different price?

Thanks for your help

BidNo

Level 8
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Valuation is part art and part science and can take years to develop. Valuation factors to consider include:

Empirical:
TLD (top level domain)
Length
Words (number of)
Numbers
Hyphens
Misspelling

Soft:
Commercial potential
Brandability
Memorable and pronounceable
Ease and ambiguity of spelling
Search engine potential (page rank)

Other:
Site content
Current traffic
Source of traffic
Current Revenue
PPC rates

If you don't have expertise, a proven approach is to determine relative value based on actual sales of comparable domains (called comp's). You can pay a professional appraiser for this or do it yourself at the site in my sig. There is lots of additional material out there, so keep reading on the web and here at DNforum.

Cheers,
BidNo

BidNo

Level 8
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score