Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Daily Diamond

DomainSite

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gerrit

Level 2
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Does anyone know how reliable DomainSite.com is?

I have been using them for two years now and always was pleased by their user-friendly interface and by their fast support.

However, last year I had a nasty experience: I got a message in my mailbox reporting a succesful login attempt. I checked the date and time, and noticed I did not log in to my account myself at that time. I was afraid I was being hacked, and immediately changed my password. The next day however, someone again logged in succesfully at a time that I wasn't online myself.
I checked the IP address and it lead to Bangalore, India. I was really worried and after about a day I got reply that the office in Bangalore is an outsource post that takes over DomainSite's work while the offices in Denver are closed for night-time.

Since that happened I am a bit insecure. It's my only negative experience with them (why did those people in India log in? Why was there no notice that it was a staffmember instead of a hijacker) but since that happened I am a bit in doubts about weither I should still register more domains with them.

Does anyone know if DomainSite is considered a highly trustworth and reliable registrar? Or should I be worried and go elsewhere (despite the good prices and many included features at DomainSite)?

cottontail

Level 1
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Domainsite is an ICANN accredited registrar which has been running successfully with for five years. Some of our very first customers are still with us -- which is both a privilege and a compliment. I'd like to think the word they would use to describe us is.... "reliable."