Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

'DUBS' legal issues?

Status
Not open for further replies.

abdulla

DNF Newbie
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I have read confusing posts about 'slang' words. Dubs is a slang word for wheels that are 20inch or bigger. 'DUB' is a trademark held by dubmagazine.com, so is there any potential legal problems with domains like those? I mean if I get a domain 'dubs.*TLDHERE*', and say I develop it into a wheels website, will there be any possible trademark issues i have to deal with? I have seen websites that use the term 'dubs' in their domain such as: 'rollingondubs.com' - this site even has the trademark for 'rollingondubs.com'. So can you please help me out here, because im new to legal stuff.

Thanks.

Gerry

Dances With Dogs
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I think it is generic. "I call dubs on the front seat" (also "dibs") and it is a common word used for making a copy of a tape or recording are things that comes to mind. The logo may be TM but not the word. So does that mean someone infringed or stole words we used as stoners when we were teens.

That's like me getting a letter from the BIG shots that my domain Yahooisms.com is an infringement (it is in the dictionary before Yahoo existed and Yahoo is an infringement on earlier Mountain Dew commercials). When I pointed this out and that we good ol' southern boys were using Yahoo long before there was this thing called 'lectricity, that was the end of that.

And ebay's legal team warning me against using, selling or marketing MaineBays.com. My wife and I were planning an extended Kayaking trip along the coast of Maine on up into Nova Scotia and this was going to be our online journal and photosite.