Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Generic words

Status
Not open for further replies.

markc53

Level 1
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
As a newbie I wonder how some companies can claim everyday words as their own.
For instance apple, jaguar, lincoln. Everyday words of a fruit, animal and river. Whilst "Apple Computers", "Jaguar Cars" and "Lincoln Autos" are no doubt trademarks the generic words are not. Surely a fruit seller has just as much claim to apple.com (if available) as Apple computers?

Or how about registering a company Apple4sale Inc (or Ltd in the UK) and then the domain apple4sale.com? Would it matter if the company sold apples or was a classified ad site for people selling Apple computers?

I realise in a dispute that the one with the most money to pay the lawyers is going to win but is that right?
Any opinions?

WhoDatDog

Level 8
Legacy Gold Member
Reaction score
Common Sense usually rules. Of course there are exceptions. Many people shoot themselves in the foot by having links that are obviously there to capitalize on the traffic of another. If someone had apple.com and had computers then one could make a reasonable inference of bad faith. If they had red apples on the site or their last name was Apple then that would be a different story. Most cases fall in between.

I have noticed in many recent decisions that Bad Faith is arrived at without a lot of substantive argument, when the underlying facts are murky at best. The burden may be shifting toward the potential infringer, whereas the "spirit' of the original rule was that the one claiming infringement had to prove Bad Faith at the moment of registration.....they seem to be making that leap a lot without much proof, and then it becomes as easy case to decide after that.

However, I believe that if you truly have good intentions, and the facts back you up, then you will win most "fringe" disputes that come your way.