Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Help- Forum Start-up

Status
Not open for further replies.

JohnGBUK

Level 5
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I have a domain name I wish to use as a forum (currently resolves to a Yahoo group). It gets about 30 new members a week at the moment and is on it's 3rd or 4th week. I want to make changes quickly before it gets too established. Problem is, I wany to use something like vBulletin offer. BUT I have no clue on programming, I am just not a techie, just someone who can find a half decent domain name..! Is this something I am goint to be able to do if I bought the software and found the right place to host (yet another problem). Can someone spare a couple of minutes to provide your thoughts please.

darrenl

Level 8
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Sure could. Its pretty easy to set up. Just find a host with some bandwidth.

Mr Webname

Oldbie
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
If I can do it you can do it :)
vBulletin is basically easy to install as long as you follow the instructions.
If your host uses CPanel then you can probably auto-install Invisionboard as a simple alternative.

hotdog_pk

Level 6
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
cPanel also caters for phpnuke and phpbb2 :-D if you want to plan even further ahead i recommend phpnuke.... its always good to hope.

what type of domain are you looking for?

JohnGBUK

Level 5
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score