Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Here's something that really irks me.....

Status
Not open for further replies.

followyourbliss

DNF Member
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Please, help me understand this one. Sometimes when I'm browsing the "Domains wanted" forum , the poster will say something to the effect, "don't want anything registered after 2003" (or whatever date...)

So my question is this. How do they know something FANTABULOUS isn't in my portfolio that I just bought yesterday???? I know enough to understand that the 3 letter domains are gone; and not alot left in 4 that's worth anything....but besides that, why do they say this?

I realize I'm probably sounding like a newbie here, but in fact, I am! So, (gulp) swallowing my pride and putting it out there. I really need an answer to this one because I actually feel insulted when I read this. (just a little.)

Looking forward to hearing back from one of the DNF experts.

Tanya

Rockefeller

Level 11
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Most people that say this prefer older domain names. It is possible to register a domain name after 2003 that is worth a significant amount of money, but a lot of people will evaluate a domain name on the creation date, as well as many other factors. If they ask specifically for a domain name before 2003, I wouldn't post or PM them the domain, its their loss and if its a great domain, I'm sure you'll sell it eventually.

BobDiGiTaL

Domain Lover
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I'm with you, followyourbliss.
I am an equal opportunity domainer. I buy domains 10 years old and buy domains that were just registered. The original registration date is not that big of a factor for me.
Besides, a dropped name, no matter how good, will reflect an incorrect original registration date.

Focus

Making Everything Click
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score