Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Domain summit 2024

how do you value .co.uk?

Status
Not open for further replies.

MichaelJ137

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
A lot of times I am searching for names, product related mostly, and stumble upon the .co.uk being available. Some of the times, I reg it. I have noticed that a lot of the times, you'll see the ,com/.net/org/.co.uk taken.... Now I'm fairly new to domaining and havent developed one yet, but I have a few questions regarding the extension.

After .com/.net/.org, would you consider .co.uk to be the next best thing? If not, and you like .cc or .mx or .de, where do you rank .co.uk and why?

What is your personal experience with owning/developing/ranking a .co.uk domain and what are some strategies if going into it since it is a UK extension.

I see them selling on DJjournal.com for good moeny, but then again I see all sorts of sh*t on there selling for insane amounts of money. What is your sales experience with them?

Tell me what you know about .co.uk please, I own some decent ones, but I just went in on them blindly, which I know is a no-no, but at least they were hand regs and good product names and keywords. IF you also want to share your opinion, I have some strong english .de's that I'm not sure are valuable or not, but I'll post a few in the appraisal section, and get them ripped up probably, lol.

Thanks in advance for your opinions and sharing your knowledge!

:cool: Michael

Last edited:

hugegrowth

Level 10
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
For a UK business or targetting UK population, a .co.uk is probably as good as, or almost as good as, a .com

the UK has a good sized population and good internet penetration and internet commerce, so that's positive.

if you are registering generic product names, especially ones that the UK public use and recognize, and are in a good sized market, that is also a plus.