Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

How Important is it to purchase privacy protection?

Status
Not open for further replies.

RVD26

Level 1
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, this is my very first post here
I'm also a TOTAL newbie in terms of this line of work or hobbying, whichever term you prefer to use.
I just purchased my first ever domain name a couple of days ago and am already thinking about are going to be the next ones to get.
I may or may not develop my first domain name into an actual website, not sure yet.
Anyways, I'm wondering how important it is to purchase privacy protection on these names.
I used moniker.com and purchased the privacy protection for the extra $4 just to be sure.
Is that really necessary in the future?
Also, how can I find out the approximate value of my domain name right now?
Thanks to everyone in advance :)

Duckinla

DNF Addict
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
All depends on what would be your reasons for wanting privacy protection? I would say most people don't purchase it.

Gerry

Dances With Dogs
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
privacy protection is an add on service. In other words, your registrar is making the money.

You have to determine what exactly you want private. If you think you might be doing this for a while, consider getting a PO Box as you address. Get or start a company name for the name box, use a phone number that is not your home, and first name list DOMAIN FOR SALE so that is the first thing that shows up in a WHOIS search...if that is your intent.

Look at a WHOIS data and discover what it is you do not want the public to know. You will need an active legit email for communication and offers, etc.

In other words, make yourself private, but accessible should someone need to contact you, without having to "pay" to be private.

dvestors

Level 8
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score