Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

How relevant are previous decisions ??

Status
Not open for further replies.

domaingenius

Level 8
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I am sick and tired of companies trying to get a domain from me and saying "We refer to the WIPO decision against you in 2000" as if that 1 decision means I am therefore guilty of everything for life. It is a bit like the reason that they preclude mention of previous convictions in criminal trials, because a prior "conviction" does not mean the guy is guilty of every other future offence of the same type. The decision in 2000 was crap and yet it seems to be referred to time and time again to taint me.

DG

draggar

þórr mjǫlnir
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I am not a lawyer, I do not play one on TV nor do I look like one.

I don't think it is relevant. Each domain is different. It is not like a speeding case where the issues are consistent (speed limit, car's speed, driving conditions etc..). Just because someone lost XYZ.com in a WIPO case doesn't mean that everyone who has a domain should lose theirs right off.

It sounds more like scare tactics from uneducated lawyers.

Is your domain similar to the domain in the referred to case and is it the same or similar company?

BELLC1

Level 8
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
You could always change your name ... :)

domaingenius

Level 8
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I am not a lawyer, I do not play one on TV nor do I look like one.

I don't think it is relevant. Each domain is different. It is not like a speeding case where the issues are consistent (speed limit, car's speed, driving conditions etc..). Just because someone lost XYZ.com in a WIPO case doesn't mean that everyone who has a domain should lose theirs right off.

It sounds more like scare tactics from uneducated lawyers.