Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Hyphenated Math

Status
Not open for further replies.

butler65

Level 2
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone. I am new to DNForum and looking forward to my experience here. I will get straight to my question which is in regard to buying domain names that have a prefix then a hyphen and then a generic word.

In using the Overture Keyword Selector tool as well as Overture's View Bid tool one is certainly able to see the end result a word brings. For example in using the Keyword Selector tool the search term "loan" brings a count of 1,080,369. In using the View Bid tool for the search term "loan" the Advertisers Max Bid shows $3.83 at the top with plenty of advertiser bids.

It seems then that we could assume that the word "loan" is fair enough to consider. Okay, now, we put a prefix. Let's use the word "my" to create the domain name myloan.com. Here's where the math changes. Now, using your keyword selector tool and your view bid tool you search on the term "myloan". There shows a count for 234 for the term "myloan" under the keyword selector tool and there are is one bid for the term "myloan" for $.05.

Now then, take the same name but put in a hyphen and use "my-loan" the keyword selector tool is back up to it's original count of 1,080,369 as is the view bid tool at $3.83.

Okay, quickly jump to google and type in "my-loan" and you will get 237,000 results. Now, type in "myloan" and you get 36,100. There's some numbers dropping here.

Now, I would have to imagine that some "prefixes" would be better than others as should you put the word "got" in place of "my" and the results go severely down hill.

So, help me out here. Am I missing something or are the hyphens not so bad after all? Is it that hyphens need to be used wisely? Any and all input is very appreciated. Again, thank you.

MediaHound

Former DNF Admin
Legacy Exclusive Member