Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Is it important to get the .com .org and .net?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Krumble

Level 2
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I am going to be setting up a Wordpress spash site with a forumattached for teachers. I am a high school teacher and I know in myarea something like this is needed. Whether or not this can take offinto a robust high traffic forum that teachers use in daily planningis something I will only know in the future.

My question to the veterans is how important is it to get the bigTDLs? Since teachforums was available in the .com, .org, and .net Ijust snatched all of them. In the future though do you think it isimportant to grab many of the extensions or can just the .com be justas useful?

Thank you for any feedback.

Regards,

Krumble

Theo

Account Terminated
Reaction score
Always get the .com - whether you need the other TLDs depends on how much you need 'brand protection'.

hugegrowth

Level 10
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
The .com is key, if you are a domain investor and buying dozens/hundreds/thousands of domains, I would try to get the .com and getting a .net or .org would be on a case by case basis.

If you only have one or a few websites, then it's probably worth getting the .net and .org too. On the other hand, if someone else bought the .net or .org version and promoted another site on it, you might benefit from that as the .com owner.

David G

Internet Entrepreneur
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Depends heavily on the categories, i.e. health, wellness & disease names where you should always try to get the .org plus the .com. Keep in mind with some categories such as health .org can do as well (oossibly even better) vs .com