Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Is there a way non US residents can register .us?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tradingnames.org

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Hi folks

I was just wondering what the score was with .us domains for non US residents, I know officially you are meant to be a US resident, but I was wondering how much of a problem this is in reality, will a registrar even let me register it in the first place assuming I don’t make up a fake US address? How likely is it to get taken off you? Do non US residents buy them and sell them on without any of this been a problem? Or is there a service that will help you get around it? I am a UK resident and while as far as I am aware anyone in the world can register a .co.uk, there are names like .us, .de which I can’t, totally sucks, anyway I was wondering how much of a problem this is in reality?

Thanks

katherine

Country hopper
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Neustar (the registry) conducts spot checks from time to time so there is always a risk that you get audited, even with a US-based address.
Now many domainers don't pay attention to the restrictions but they are enforced.

If you want to register just one .us domain your best bet is to find a trustworthy person to assume ownership. If you want to invest in .us and own quite a few, you could set up a US corporation and the eligibility issue is solved.

tradingnames.org

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I see, it seems a bit too dodgy for my liking, I was just wondering, but personally I think I will stay well away from .us. Better to accept it’s just another protected market and not a level playing field.

katherine

Country hopper
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score

HolyRoller

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I believe if you conduct a lot of business with the US you can also register .us domains