Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Is there a way to protest or challenge a registered trademark? (not a UDRP question)

Status
Not open for further replies.

cshel

Level 3
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Someone has registered my company name as a trademark. The first use date they claim is 2000... I've been using the name since 1995. I'm not sure how it is that this guy's attorney didn't notice someone else was already using the name, but it's happened.

Is there some type of challenge that can be filed?

Thanks in advance for your comments,
Carolyn

GeorgeK

Leap.com
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
It can be challenged. But, if they're using the term in a different industry than you are, then you have no real basis for the challenge.

cshel

Level 3
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
GeorgeK said:
It can be challenged. But, if they're using the term in a different industry than you are, then you have no real basis for the challenge.

It's the exact same industry, exact same service. Different geographical location, but they've asked for and received a national trademark.

Anthony Ng

@Nameslave
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I guess our lawyer members might have a better idea as to how a REGISTERED trademark in the U.S. could be challenged. (I'm sure there is a way. :)) Large companies usually monitor advertised trademark applications (via their trademark agents) and file opposition even before they are allowed.

cshel

Level 3
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
nameslave said:
I guess our lawyer members might have a better idea as to how a REGISTERED trademark in the U.S. could be challenged. (I'm sure there is a way. :)) Large companies usually monitor advertised trademark applications (via their trademark agents) and file opposition even before they are allowed.