Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Legal Issue?

Status
Not open for further replies.

andyat11

Level 7
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Hi, I purchased a domain that the old owner claimes copyrighted anyways if it was copywrited do I have full custody of it or should I cover my butt and give it to them?
Andy

Blarian

DNF Regular
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
He has the DOMAIN copywritten or the WEBSITE?

I'm not a lawyer but I don't think it's possible to copyright a domain name and have that mean anything.

andyat11

Level 7
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Well I checked on archive.org it says blobloblo.whatever copyright 2003

ERCollins

Level 6
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
if he has a trademark this worry untill then, he has nothing copyrights can be on content but not on domain names.

Blarian

DNF Regular
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
ecollins said:
if he has a trademark this worry untill then, he has nothing copyrights can be on content but not on domain names.

Yah, it sounds like a scare tactic to get you to fork over the domain. To my knowledge people that have things trademarked don't send threat letters with copyright in the place of the word trademark ;)

andyat11

Level 7
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Well the domain is crazydogranch.net (not advertising if considered remove it)... is there anything I can get introuble fore?
Andy

jdk

DNF Addict
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score