Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Daily Diamond

Looking to start 2 new forums

Status
Not open for further replies.

mppedersen

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I'm looking to create 2 new forums, I have very little experience running forums but hey we all have to start sometime.

My question is should I spend the money and go with vBulletin or go open source with phpBB?

Thanks

Domain Days 2024

Jonathan

DNF Addict
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I think it's a good idea to go with phpBB. If the forum takes off, then you can move to VB. But don't spend the money because the forum might not take off. You can sell owned vb licenses, but why go with the hassle of even buying it in the first place.

BLazeD

Selling
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
VB

And be prepared to spend a lot of time getting them going

jdk

DNF Addict
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
And start with a few forums and then expand. This way it makes the forum look full instead of having many forums but only threads in a few of them. Then when you have the site established you can create another site.

mppedersen

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I'm thinking i'm gonna hire someone to help design them, I can do the default stuff but who wants to join a ugly default forum. I think JDK has a very valid point, thanks.

One domain I picked up on a drop, it used to be quite large but that was a year ago, the other I got alot of positive feedback on as there is not a whole lot out there on that topic.

I think it's a good idea to go with phpBB. If the forum takes off, then you can move to VB.

Can you tell me why I would need to go to VB later, is it better?

furca

DNF Addict
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score