Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Daily Diamond

Making a Living with Domains

Status
Not open for further replies.

Seraphim

Level 9
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Are a lot of the members here making their sole living off of domain trading / parking? Is this something feasible with a modest amount of investment funds? Just wondering where to set my expectations, as I'm just setting out into the domain biz. My initial impression of this area of investment is it seems like a few big time domain players own a massive chunk of any domains out there worthy of owning. Seems like a tough game.

Domain Days 2024

GT Web

DNF Addict
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
This is a very popular question.

Most members of DNF have other employment, but a fair number do make their entire income from domains. I am a student, so domains are my "sole income", but I'm not making enough yet for it to be considered a full time job.

jdk

DNF Addict
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Definately not a full time job for myself; however, I am a webmaster and develop my names. So far I have not sold many names, rather building up my portfolio. I do make a nice income, but nothing to pay the bills. I think of domains as a hobby of mine. ;)

Of course as you mentioned if you have the funds to get into the "game" big time you will do fine. Otherwise, it will not happen over night.

DNjet

Level 8
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
part timer here, most of the big players had the smarts to start back in the 1990's and have a nice position now, I started in the 90's but didn't have the smarts :( in the year 1999 I let my whole portfolio of 300 names expire, you don't even want to know.

dsturbed

Level 6
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Don't quit your day job. ;)

Johnn

Level 14
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
dsturbed said:
Don't quit your day job. ;)

Right on!