Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

match.com trade mark

Status
Not open for further replies.

Vincent

Level 7
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Where can I go to find out if match.com is trademark? If I want to create a site called goodcreditmatch.com, would this violate the trademark?

T

tekz999

I am thinking if your site is providing the same/similar service as what match.com is offering, then you are on a uphill battle with match.com

Melly

Pink Lover!
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I don't think you would have any problems if you aren't doing a dating site. Totally different areas so you wouldn't be competing with them.

urlurl

Level 8
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
i agree (im not a lawyer...but) match is a generic dictionary word which could be used for almost anything. The use of the word plays the biggest part here. They are right too stay very clear away from anything dating, relatioship, etc related

Vincent

Level 7
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I'm thinking of goodcreditmatch.com, where people with good credits can date each other. If match is generic, wouldn't I be able to use the name for dating, but for a specific group of people.

Thanks for all the inputs.

urlurl

Level 8
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
i thought (based on the name you had) you were setting up a site for credit products

know...Thats a grey area - if you are very serious about the site i would first consult with a professional (lawyer) to see if there are going to be issues before you put a lot of time/money into it.

My guess is there may be some potential issues there. But thats just my opinion

enterpryzman

Level 3
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
you're screwed, forget it if it involves dating in any way-shape-form. <<<<< not a lawyer but, this one's a complete no brainer-trust me.
Enterpryzman

TheLegendaryJP

Level 9
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score