Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Noob Advertising Conundrum

Status
Not open for further replies.

RedTruck

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I've owned a personal domain for many years and it has been getting around 100 unique visits a day due to some instructional content I put up. It's very nichey, but I do appear number 1 on Google searches for certain key phrases.

A couple of months ago I started playing with Adsense to see what would happen, and I began tracking with Google Analytics. I also added some affiliate links from Amazon. The Adsense CTR isn't great, but visitors spend a surprising amount of time on the site, averaging between 2 and 3 minutes. I get click thrus on the Amazon ads but very few purchases.

The Amazon click thru's would seem to imply a willingness by site visitors to follow ad links, although currently they're not finding what they want at the end of the links. It seems to me that the small amount of traffic I get could be very useful to certain advertisers. I have a good idea who those advertisers are, because the content is very specific. Questions is: what do I do about it?

I realize this is small potatoes to many, but if anybody has any thoughts about how to capitalize on the captive site visitor's eyeballs, I'd appreciate it.

sunja

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
follow the instructions on the adsense heatmap, theme your ad colours to your site's colours, place your ads as close to the content as possible.

Expand your site, create more content, use ad channels to see where your visitors click most. Split large pages into several smallers ones.

2-3 mins is good, perhaps you'd benefit from an e-newsletter signup to encourage repeat vistors.

RedTruck

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score