Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

.org registration problem....

Status
Not open for further replies.

pdkpl

Level 2
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
hi!

I'm quite new to this business, so maybe the question will be silly... But I have a problem with one .org registration and I don't know if to worry or not.

3 days ago I registered an .org domain. Then, my info appeared on Whois. But, yesterday, info on whois changed and there is "Namecheap" (my registrar) shown as the registrant. And the status of the domains is shown as "Transfer Prohibited"

I wrote about it to Namecheap and they answered quite quickly:
Hello,
It appears as though the domain is currently on client hold. We have
forwarded the details and we will be contacting you shortly.

Could you tell me, what it means: Client Hold? And why this happened? What "Transfer Prohibited" exactly means? Do I have to worry or not? Of course I believe Namecheap will help me with that, but anyway it's strange for me, because when I was registering com, net or biz, all was ok. And this is my first org - and such a problem appeared.

If any of you had similar experience, I will be greatful for some help and clarificatiion. Thanks.

PS. Yesterday I was correcting my info on whois for this domain, because there was something mistyped - maybe it has impacted this situation? But it's strange anyway, that instead of my corrected info, the info of my registrar appeared... And it still does not explain the "Transfer prohibited" status, which was there from the beginning, even when my info was still there.

madcamel

Level 7
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Client Hold - not sure what it means
Transfer Prohibited - you cant transfer the domain to another registrar