Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Partial trademarks

Status
Not open for further replies.

marwin

Level 1
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Lets assume that I own the domain gizmo.com. What if some company has a trademark for "gizmo shop" (a made-up word and a dictionary word coupled). Is there any risk that they could hi-jack the domain because the made-up word makes it similar to their trademark, or must the full trademark be part of the domain name? Worth mentioning is that another company actually owns the trademark for "gizmo", but they don't seem to be interested in it.

draqon

Level 8
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Well Marwin, here is the answer to your question. Keep in mind I am not a lawyer:

1) If a company has a trademark for MadeupWord + Dictionary word, then you can basically be sure that they have trademark rights for MadeUpWord. Trademark law focuses on the part of the trademark that is made-up and pretty much disregards the weaker and less distinguishing part of the trademark (which is the dictionary word).

2) The fact that some unrelated company has a trademark for MadeUpWord is not very important to the matter.

3) Whether or not you lose your domain depends on
(a) just how unique this madeup word is. if its as unique as cocacola or Barcalounger (a type of chair) then your position is pretty weak. if the madeup word is just an acronym like ABC or FER then your position is stronger.
(b) how you are currently using the domain is of vital importance. do you have advertisements up that are in the same area of commerce as the other company? does your site look like their site, or attempt to confuse visitors into assuming your site is associated with theirs? these are what determines how risky your situation is.

jberryhill

Philadelphia Lawyer
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
What if some company has a trademark for "gizmo shop"