Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Please advise

Status
Not open for further replies.

J0sh

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
hi,

i recently registered to this form after buying domain names. I found someone in my area online to help me develop a few of my domains. I have ZERO experience in this. And don't want to over trust someone i don't know very well...

He recommended that i set up a hosting account with Gates, and that i give him the info on the email they sent me after registration.

He wants me to prepay him for the hours he's going to work on my site.

Is this "normal practice"?

Perhaps I'm just being paranoid, but I want to make sure I'm doing the right thing considering that I don't know him or his background.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated,

J0sh

steveto

DNF Newbie
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Well,

He may not trust you to pay..but usually if you dont know the person too well, you offer to pay half now and the rst when the project is completed. That is normal actually for development....but I got a guy that I ask how much a project will be and sometimes I pay half and some times i wait till he is done. ..depending on the relationship..but half now and half when it's done is pretty fair to me.

Steve

domain newbie

Level 9
Legacy Gold Member
Reaction score
not normal- make sure you are comfortable paying- some just disappear-some just too lazy..

its normally okay to pay half if Webster from UK , US or Europe, ask for references/contact numbers, - anything to do with Iran, Iraq etc be careful

This forum gives a little security- check trading rating and how long person have been here-at least you will be able to complain..

tinner666

Level 5
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Does he have any examples of prior work? Any references?