Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Potential legal problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

burgerman

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm a new domainer and I made a mistake.

I registered a one-word generic domain that I honestly didn't think was a trademark. Unfortunately, it turns out that it is one. I didn't check the trademark database before registering (I know, stupid), and I don't want to get into any trouble. I don't think the company has noticed yet. I haven't made any money off of the domain (it's not parked or developed).
What should I do in this situation? Should I contact an attorney? Should I drop the domain? Selling it would make me look bad. If I can't sell it and I can't keep it, how do I get rid of it?

Thanks so much for your help!

draggar

þórr mjǫlnir
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
(I am not a lawyer, I do not play one on TV nor do I look like one)

Your chances of having any legal action against you right now are minimal. You said it is not parked or developed (make sure it is not parked by your hosting company, if it is, just throw up a page with the domain name or something very basic (even a blank white page).

The ethical thing to do is notify the company that you registered the domain and offer it to them for free (asking any money might start a case against you).

If you don't want to do that, you can just drop the name. Most registrars will allow you to immediately drop a domain.

burgerman

Level 4
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Thanks for the advice dragger!

Another question: in low-profile trademark infringment cases, what usually happens? Does the cyberersquatter get sued? or is the domain simply handed over to the rightful owner?

Thanks again

katherine

Country hopper
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
I registered a one-word generic domain that I honestly didn't think was a trademark.