Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Precautions A New Buyer Can Take When Purchasing Domain Names

Status
Not open for further replies.

FrankD

Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

My name is Frank and I am new to the dnforum. As a newbie who is interested in purchasing domains, what are some precautions/questions that I can take/ask to ensure that I am dealing with an honest seller and to make sure the seller follows through with the transaction.

Thanks to all who take the time to respond.

Best,

Frank

VirtualT

Level 8
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

My name is Frank and I am new to the dnforum. As a newbie who is interested in purchasing domains, what are some precautions/questions that I can take/ask to ensure that I am dealing with an honest seller and to make sure the seller follows through with the transaction.

Thanks to all who take the time to respond.

Best,

Frank

you can't, use your best judgment based on length of membership and iTrader, and use escrow for amount over 1k

Jarrall

Minisite Developer
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Always check the whois of the domain you are about to purchase.
you can do this at http://who.is
or http://whois.domaintools.com

For example, say that the person you are negotiating with says he lives in the UK, yet the whois information for the domain says the owner lives in China, or India, then I would definitely question the discrepancy.

dodo1

DNF Addict
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
You can never be 100% sure that you're dealing with an honest buyer or seller.

But when buying domains it is always important to do some research on the domain you're going to purchase. As has already been said, taking a look at the domain's whois is one of the first things to do. DomainTools.com is good for this, or you can go directly to VeriSign's website for the whois information.