Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Profit to be made from Trademark Domain Names?

Status
Not open for further replies.
S

scjollie

Profit to be made from Trademark Domain Names?
Insider Secret's or better safe than sorry?

Ok. I'm a rookie.
I've been selling domain names for 3 days. I had my first sell of $700 yesterday. I want to thank everyone here on DNForum.com for all your help. I am learning alot from you guys. I actually bought about 15 names 3 years ago, intending to sell them but just never did, I did attemp to sell a few on ebay several times, but not one bid and I am glad because I would've sold them to cheap.

OK, to the question at hand.....

All this stuff about getting names of industry giants and trademark Infringement...
I have seen some pretty big names on here and you guys disreguard them immediately...saying they're worth nothing...but a law suite..... for trademark infringement.

Well, doesn't it take alot of money for them to go to ICANN's Dispute board and have this disput resovled? Wouldn't they rather just buy the name from you for say $1000. just to resolve it and have the name themselves? I mean..if its that good a name to scare people off because they will be sued..that tells me its a good name.

I was on ICANN reading through the site about TradeMark disputes.
If I read right, they (Plantiff) would have to fork out a minimum $950.00 and up to $6,000 for multiple domains, just to file a complaint against you with ICANN's approved UDRP boards and another $1000-$5000 for their laywers to handle it.
Even if they win the action against you, you are not responsable for the winners fees if you lose, At most you would pay 50% meaning half the fees UDRP charges, meaning they have to pay the other 50% of the UDRP fees at least even if they win.
(the plantiff pays 100% of fees upfront, if you lose you re-imburse 50% of that to the plantiff) ...and they know this too.