Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Daily Diamond

For Sale Questions re: business and taxes (Canada)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Spex

Level 6
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score
Hey there, I'm fairly new to the domain game and have registered about a dozen domains in the last month or so (some crappy, some good).

Since being parked, they've generated about $0.25 total, so I'm not making any money yet. And since it's too early to sell and transfer, I won't be making any money for a while, if ever.

So my questions are…

Since this is a hobby, should I register as a business? If yes, will the fact that my domains were registered prior to my business being registered cause any problems? If not, at what point should I think about registering?

Also, what is my responsibility towards sales/income tax should I ever sell these domains or start making decent money on parking? (and would my .ca's be treated differently than my .com's, net's, org's?)

I don't expect any long drawn out responses from anyone (I won't mind them either), but if you could suggest some good sites to read up on this issue, I would be very appreciative.

Thanks.

Domain Days 2024

LTroiani

Level 1
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
I know this isn't directly answering your question, but if you run your business under your exact name, and the business meets a few other easy to meet criteria, there is no need to register it. This is at least true in Ontario, I'm not sure about other provinces.

Here is a link. You can fill out all the information and it will tell you that there is no need to register. Make sure you select sole proprietorship.

https://www.ibsa.serviceontario.ca/...ervlet?command=screenflownoscript&screenid=26

Im also looking forward to seeing specific answers to you questions.

Luc

onlinestoreca

Level 5
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
If it was me... and it's not...