Enjoy unlimited access to all forum features for FREE! Optional upgrade available for extra perks.
Sedo.com

Registrar choices - cheap or not cheap?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AnnaS

Level 3
Legacy Platinum Member
Reaction score
Is it worth it to use a $25 registrar? Or just go with $5 at Go Daddy?

Is it worth it to go with private registration services, or is that just a waste of money?

Just a rant from here down------

I am new to this, only have a few domains, and in the past week sold 1, gave away 6 and picked up 3 new ones.

Go Daddy is cheap, but for anything else they just suck. Stuff is broke, tools do not work, and they push hard add-ons. But I have still dealt with them because they are cheap. But adding on private registrations always irked me - $8 for a hidden name.

I picked up a dedicated server from 1and1 a few months back, and they offered free private registrations. So I gave them a shot and registered one domain with them last week and had no problems. I transferred a domain into them, and the person from here at DNForums PM'd me a word of warning. As I reread his PM today you could almost here the ghostly echo of :"You'll be sorry" in his remarks.

And after hours on the phone with a constant arrogant attitude from 1and1 staff - their system has a problem, so I should just not bother them to fix it. i should do a manual transaction. It is just quicker for me to do a manual transfer because they don't want to fix their system, or it will take too long, or they have no idea when it will be fixed.

I said the heck with this, put in the transfer to my Go Daddy account, and it was all done automatic.

With no hassles or BS.

Ehsan

Level 8
Legacy Exclusive Member
Reaction score